Imagined Ink

Are you a tween or teen in grades 6-12 in the FVRL district? Send us your entries for the Imagined Ink Teen Writing Contest!

Entries will be accepted between September 1 and October 1.

Entries will be read by a panel of judges. Prizes will be awarded to winners in two age groups (6-8th grade and 9-12th grade) in four categories (short story, poem, essay and comic). Winning entries will be published on the library's website.

Important Dates

  • August 15: First day to sign up for the Teen Writing Workshops.
  • September 1: First day to submit entries using the online form
  • October 1: Last day to submit entries
  • October 12: Winners are notified, and winning entries are posted here
  • October 17: Writing Contest Party at White Salmon Valley Community Library
  • October 20: Writing Contest Parties at Battle Ground Community Library and Vancouver Community Library.

Who can participate?

The Writing Contest is open to youth in grades 6-12 who live within, attend school, or are home schooled in the Fort Vancouver Regional Library District and the Woodland School District.

Rules on entries

  • Must be 1,000 words or less
  • Must be original work by contestant
  • May be any genre, topic or format
  • Must be in English or Spanish
  • Only one entry per person
  • Must be submitted via the online form

FVRL staff may edit entries for spelling and punctuation.

Congratulations to our 2017 winners!

High School Division

First Place:
Where the Crosswalks are Taking Us by Reid Brown, grade 11
Second Place:
Whispers by Emma Peterson, grade 10
Third Place:
The Lone, Black Chicken by Joseph Peterson, grade 10
Honorable Mention:
Melayna Campos, Abigail Moreland, Kathryn Peck, Calley Mihaiuc, Rebecca Strizver, Ashlyn Meza, Kana Sasaki, Erin Van Natta, Louisa Nichol, Kiley Sidwell

Middle School Division

First Place:
Glamor by Emma Hastings, grade 8
Second Place:
Paralyzed by Cassie Morris, grade 7
Third Place:
Void Academy by Josie DeBord, grade 8
Best Poem
The Heart of the Forest by Kiera McKee, grade 7
Honorable Mention:
Zachary McClellan, Micah Taylor, Nora VanRees, Rayna Gardea, Phoebe Perrone, Logan DeJong, Elliot Holden